New here..looking for guidance.

Got questions? We got answers....
singie

New here..looking for guidance.

Post by singie »

Greeting, I am a newbie to trail riding.

Live in the PNW and ride in Tillamook state forest.

I bought a 2004 KDX220R basically in stock configuration.

Have been out riding about 4 times now. Its been a ton of fun..most fun even on 2 wheels that i can remmeber of in many years now.

I had a few questions with regards to my bike's maintainence and upgrades:

First good crash on the first time out bent the factory 7/8 bar out of whack and since then it has become worse.

I bought a Pro Taper Controur (high bend) fat bar to install in its stead.

I have the bar mounts for the fat bar, they are rubber based. Are there any better ones to look for? I have heard that even thought he fat bars might not bend these rubber mounts might actually bend themselves. I plan on using them for the time being however since i have them on hand.

Coming back to the bark busters that I have currently mounted on the 7/8 bar:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayI ... 061wt_1165

I can't seem to identify these so i can get a pro taper mount kit for these bark busters.

Alternatively, do you guys suggest any non-cycra triple tree hard mount bark busters in its stead?

I am also looking for a set of radiator guards. ANy recommendations will be most welcome. The MSR racing is currently out of stock nearly every place i have tried. ANy other that is worht looking into?

I further resorted to getting a thumper talk skid plate as the ricochet and msr ones didn't have protection for the water pump section.

One further upgrade to the bike at hand is that a friend is helping me repalce my compeltely shot front tire with a new dunlop 952 (same as the rear) tomorrow. Can't wait to see what improvement that brinks to the bike in terms of traction as my current ones are in pathetic condition.

Thanks in advnace and shred on!!
scheckaet
KDXRider.net
KDXRider.net