de-tune a kdx?

Welcome to KDXRider.net! Please take a moment to introduce yourself, and meet the group.
danfree

de-tune a kdx?

Post by danfree »

I'm just learning to ride. Purchased an xt225 for that purpose, but would like to get a more dedicated "trail/ offroad" bike. Even though I am a bit old (44 yrs), my goal is to participate in and finish an enduro event someday. My research leads me to believe that the kdx would be ideal. However, I was wondering if the 200cc motor can be tuned in such a way that low rpms (for extended periods) won't damage it. Or maybe riding at a level that would keep the KIPS valve closed. At least until my confidence and skill level increases. I have a family to support, so trying to minimize risk is a necessary responsibility. i.e. experiencing the 2 stroke 'hit' at an inconvenient time. From what I gather 4 strokes may be better for beginning riders (which is why I have the yamaha), but I don't really want a 4 stroke off-road bike. I like the simplicity of maintaining a 2 stroke.
tim
Supporting Member I
Supporting Member I

Post by tim »

find a stock kdx 200 and ride it i think you will be satisfied with the way they run all through the rpm range you can lug them around at low rpm and that 2 stroke bang is not as intimidating as you might think
06 200H

GALLERY!
Indawoods
Creator and Founder
Creator and Founder

Post by Indawoods »

Welcome Dan!
Dekalb eh? Howdy neighbor!

The KDX is tame and runs very well in the low RPM ranges.... it will do as little as you want it to do without hurting it.

As far as the 2 stroke hit... you have to want to get into it for it to happen on the KDX. That's why it's so rider friendly.
*** Administrator //***
****'95 KDX 200/****

"People ate cows a thousand years ago for the same reason we eat them now. Cause they are easy to catch.We're not savages,we're just lazy. A cheetah could taste like chocolate heroin. But will never know. Those bastards are fast!!! "
danfree

Post by danfree »