Noob from CT

Welcome to KDXRider.net! Please take a moment to introduce yourself, and meet the group.
Theducman
Supporting Member

Noob from CT

Post by Theducman »

Hello all, my name is Mike and I am from central Connecticut. I just bought a 97 kdx 220 for a grand. I am currently working on getting her cleaned up and also doing some restoration. I am new to two stroke bike and off road. I am a road racer so I have lots to learn. I hope to make this bike trail ready and looking sharp again (purple accents in all). For give me but I will probably ask a lot of stupid questions.
John_S
Gold Member
Gold Member

Re: Noob from CT

Post by John_S »

Welcome to the forum and good luck on the project. The 220 is such a great bike but it's important to start by changing the stock piston if it hasn't already been done. They were prone to crack at the skirt. My top end was about $120 in parts. It's a plated cylinder so if it's within spec and scratch free, you can clean it up with a green scotch brite and be ready to go. New reeds would be good while you're doing the top end work. I would say an account at Rocky Mountain atvmc, a service manual, and a torque wrench will be a good start.
Also read up on 2 stroke leak down testing. It's really important to have an engine with no air leaks.
Theducman
Supporting Member

Post by Theducman »

John_S wrote:Welcome to the forum and good luck on the project. The 220 is such a great bike but it's important to start by changing the stock piston if it hasn't already been done. They were prone to crack at the skirt. My top end was about $120 in parts. It's a plated cylinder so if it's within spec and scratch free, you can clean it up with a green scotch brite and be ready to go. New reeds would be good while you're doing the top end work. I would say an account at Rocky Mountain atvmc, a service manual, and a torque wrench will be a good start.