New to the sport from Wyoming

Welcome to KDXRider.net! Please take a moment to introduce yourself, and meet the group.
Wyorider

New to the sport from Wyoming

Post by Wyorider »

Hey folks, I'm just starting out riding at the young age of 32 and this is my first bike. I got it for a song last fall and quickly found this site. The bike is an 03 KDX 220R, overall in decent shape but has been ridden ( just some scratches in the plastic and somehow a dog chewed on them a bit). Anyway, with the advice I found on this site I have done the following:
1. Replaced piston with wiseco forged (std. bore)
2. Cleaned KIPS
3. New top end gaskets, I guess that is obvious
4. Replaced petcock oring
5. Removed carb and found out the PO used black RTV to try and fix the jet block gasket, replaced jet block oring and re-jetted still needs work though.
6. Installed hand guards
7. New clutch perch/lever and cable.

I've done a few more basic maintenance items but I really like riding so far. I ride anywhere from 5000' to maybe 10k? Not sure yet as I've only ridden it a handful of times. I'm looking forward to improving my riding and maybe doing a local desert race, but mostly just getting out with friends and riding!
Thanks for such a great site and the wealth of info. I'll post a picture when I figure that out!
6 Riders
Gold Member
Gold Member

Re: New to the sport from Wyoming

Post by 6 Riders »

Welcome...Good choice on a first bike :bravo:
To post pictures you need to use a photo hosting site like photobucket, or if you can access it, the gallery on this site. Once you have a photo loaded to photobucket, click on the photo you want to post, to the right of the photo you'll see a heading that says "share this photo" and four choices, the bottom one says "IMG", click on the box NEXT to "IMG" The box will turn yellow and say "copied", then right click in this text box and paste
You will see something like this; (not exactly of course, but I'm sure you get the idea)