Hi everyone

Welcome to KDXRider.net! Please take a moment to introduce yourself, and meet the group.
rentonpeter

Hi everyone

Post by rentonpeter »

Just wanted to actually introduce myself and my bike. I have been stalking these forums for a couple of years but never posted anything. I bought my stock 97 KDX200 about 2 and a half years ago. It was in poor shape and got even worse after lending it to a friend. It came back with the kick starter broken, the suspension linkage seized and the motor with pretty much no compression.

Since that time I have done a fair bit of work to the bike to fix it up and make it rideable (also a little prettier). It was a slow process due to funds and available time.

I started by pulling the motor down and rebuilding it, replacing every bearing in the gearbox and bottom end. The bore was badly scored so I sent the jug away to get sleeved and a new piston. I went this route as it allows me to do quite a few rebuilds without having to replate. At the same time I fitted a Vforce reed cage and new air filter. As the kick starter was stuffed I ended up replacing it with the KX125 kickstart which I had read about on the forum.

While I was doing this I read about doing a fork swap from a KX and found some KX250 forks from about the same vintage on Ebay. I had the forks rebuilt with fresh seals and apparently they are in good nick so I got lucky buying something from the other side of the world online. I swapped the headstem in the clamp, which fortunately didn’t require knurling, and had a spacer made to suit the upper clamp to fit both bits. Instead of attempting to fit the KDX wheel was going to be a bit difficult so instead I swapped to a KX250 wheel, brake calliper, line and digital speedo. I had to make up some new brackets to make it look decent and put an aftermarket headlight over the top.

I also went through and had the rear shock rebuilt and replaced all the suspension linkage bushes and bearings.