New Maine-iac

Welcome to KDXRider.net! Please take a moment to introduce yourself, and meet the group.
Mayor Brap Brap
Supporting Member

New Maine-iac

Post by Mayor Brap Brap »

Hey everyone, my name is Mike and I'm very new to KDXes. I'm 30 years old and live up near Bar Harbor, ME. I'm coming from a Honda CRF230F. My friend made the mistake of letting me ride his KDX one day and the Honda that I spent over a year building up was sold the next month.

In its place sits this:

It's a 2002 with a 2005 200 engine. I bought the bike from an older enduro rider who also had a '91 KDX and seemed like he has been around the block for a long time. There were a lot of great things about this bike:

-All new plastics, cylinder chromed and with brand new piston and rings, new fork seals, new wheel bearings, new sprockets and chain

But, there were a lot of ridiculously bad things that never surfaced until I got it home:

-No countershaft seal (had to replace), rear caliper was stuck, pads worn to the metal and rotor shot because of it (had to rebuild and have to find a rotor), carb is leaking from somewhere, spark plug is not tightened enough and leaking, there's no kickstand, no toolkit, bar cones shot (replaced with Scott's), painted green frame does not match Kawi green, and I had to buy fork boots

But the biggest one of all was the leak coming from where the two case halves meet at the front of the crank. With the help of my friend at GRC Racing in town, we completely took the engine apart and split the cases. I found a Hot Rod piston rod, leading me to suspect that the cases had already been split. I guess they did a poor job rebonding.

In any CASE, It's Yamabonded back together and everything spins and is able to shift into all gears. I will say, if it wasn't for this site, I couldn't have gotten the job done.

Thank you for being here, and nice to meet you all!
Julien D
KDXRider.net
KDXRider.net

Re: New Maine-iac

Post by Julien D »