89 KDX / KX hybrid for vintage MX?

Discussion for swapping a KDX motor in a MX frame...
Berniepiet

Post by Berniepiet »

Hi guys, I am new to KDX's. I race vintage MX and we have a class for 89 and older 0-200 cc's. I have an 89 KX 125 and saw a CL for an 89 KDX 200. Can the combination of these two be made into a great vintage motocrosser.

I have a KTM 200SX that I love for modern MX. I love to humiliate the 450's on it. Would like to try the "200 Soultion" in vintage. I could have Eric Gore build the motor as an option. I don't think I want to get into stuffing the 200 engine into the 125, so I will stick with the 200 frame.

Can the engine be made MX fast, ie more hp, less torque , use the 125 transmission etc. or is this just an excercise in frivolity? Is the older tubular frame ok for MX use?

Thanks for your input
6 Riders
Gold Member
Gold Member

Re: 89 KDX / KX hybrid for vintage MX?

Post by 6 Riders »

I raced my 93 KDX in a Vintage class this summer....Now, I SUCK at track riding, but I couldn't pass up racing (my first race) on a Nationals track, so I did it. IMO the motor is plenty powerful enough for MX, it will eat 125s given proper gearing. The part of the bike that lacks is the frame geometry. The short rake of the KDX forks makes it a little hard landing for MX. But if you can keep the jumps "low and straight" (which I, in fact, can not do) then the KDX would be fine. I would use the KX frame and cram that 200 motor into it. It might be easier than you think. The KDX frame is based off the previous generation KX, so going into an 89 frame should be pretty simple. If you choose not to go that route, you'll want the forks off of the KX, built and shortened for the KDX and maybe the 19" rear wheel.
newbbewb wrote:^what he said.
masterblaster wrote:Man 6 riders you rock.
*side note...I'm drunk, so try to read what I'm trying to say, instead of what I actually type
newbbewb
Supporting Member II
Supporting Member II

Post by newbbewb »