swingarm

Discussion for swapping a KDX motor in a MX frame...
ukkdx200

swingarm

Post by ukkdx200 »

Ive seen a bit of talk about it but has anyone built a hybrid using the kdx swing arm. im no mechanic so what wiuld need to be done to get it to fit and would this affect the shock abd linkage. i.e. would i still be able to use a kx shock?

Never thought i would manage a hybrid but im starting to think.maybe i could do it! im quite happy to use a kx if need be i just like the adjusters and ive already got one!
KDXohio
Supporting Member

Re: swingarm

Post by KDXohio »

From what I've read it sounds like all you have to do is weld in bushings to the kx frame to accommodate the kdx pivot bolt which is a smaller diameter than the kx pivot bolt.
1990 KDX200 FMF Fatty, Answer VFC silencer, VForce 3 Cage, Wiseco Piston, KX125-J series KYB USD fork conversion, Race tech goldvalves, J series front brake assembly, air-box snorkel removed, Acerbis Headlight, KX450F Front fender, Pro Taper RM bend bars, ASV front Brake lever, MSR Clutch perch and lever, RB Head mod, 36mm PWK carb, Trail Tech Kickstand.
bufftester
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Post by bufftester »

Yes, the KX swingarm pivot is 17mm and the KDX is 15mm. Ideally if you have access to a machine shop you could mill a couple of stepped collars to mount the KDX pivot. User jdmurray started one a couple years ago (http://kdxrider.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=111&t=9125) but never finished up the build in his thread, you might try contacting him but he hasn't been on in nearly 2 years. If you do a stepped bushing then you wouldn't have to weld anything to the pivot area, drill the case, or cut a swingarm. On the other hand KX swingarms are cheap on Ebay (at least here in the states).
KDXohio
Supporting Member

Post by KDXohio »

It also allows you to put the engine back into a kdx chassis if ever needed