2002 CR125 Hybrid Build with LOTS of pictures

Discussion for swapping a KDX motor in a MX frame...
sixstringsteve

2002 CR125 Hybrid Build with LOTS of pictures

Post by sixstringsteve »

Hello everyone. I'm new here. It's probably a bit premature to start this build thread, since I don't have the donor bike yet, but I'm excited about it and I'd like to get the kinks worked out before I start the build.

I'm new to dirt bike modification, but I've built enough rock crawlers to know my way around a grinder, welder, plasma cutter, etc. And this looks like a fun challenge, and it's a TON cheaper than building another rock crawler.

I currently ride a 2002 KDX 200 and I love it. But I love the idea of building a CR125 hybrid even more.

I'm currently looking for a donor roller cr125, then the madness will begin. So hit me up if you have any leads. I'm in Utah.
Last edited by sixstringsteve on 12:32 am Jul 05 2011, edited 1 time in total.
sixstringsteve

Post by sixstringsteve »

Well, I found my donor, a 2002 CR125. With all the great trails finally opening up, I probably won't start the hybrid build 'till the winter. I don't think i could stand a month of downtime on my bike.

Here's the KDX (ignore the dirty garage)

Here's the CR:

turdsand

Post by turdsand »

Wow, a whole two days to track down a donor CR! I'm considering a CR hybrid myself, so I'll be following this with great interest. Thanks for posting from the very beginning!
sixstringsteve

Post by sixstringsteve »

Thanks. I promise to take lots of pictures. I'm no expert on what needs to be done for the conversion, so it'll be a LONG thread with lots of questions and chit-chat (I apologize in advance). But I also promise to take LOTS of pictures with detailed explanations. I'm an instructional designer, so I'll try to make it understandable to an 8th grader. We'll see how that goes :grin:
sixstringsteve

Post by sixstringsteve »