final RB question before taking the plunge

Questions and Answers about the best carb and Head mods available for the KDX.
midlifemoto

final RB question before taking the plunge

Post by midlifemoto »

re: my 06 KDX 200...as stated, it has stage 1 perf upgrade, pipe, jetting and air bix lid removed.....it really runs great...and although the RB changes are overwhelming stated as positive, i've concluded that it is more the exception than the rule that it bolts back on turn key. Sounds fairly fickle and tempermental to get right. My thing is, I have no experience knowing what behaviors require jetting needs, air screw, pilot screw, etc. I get aggravated easy with this kind of stuff and don't want to spend 1/2 the riding season fighting this especially since, as stated, I don't know WTF I'm doing. Thoughts? thanks!
scheckaet
KDXRider.net
KDXRider.net

Post by scheckaet »

You don't know what you're doing? Then you came to the right place!
Lots of info and help to set up you bike.
IMHO, do the RB head and carb, I believe it is easier to "dial in" than before (and I'm not that great at carb setting) but once you understand the basic principle, it become fairly easy to figure things out. Beside if you tell Ron your elevation and temp, he can pretty much tell you what jet to use.
Do a search on jetting and find the one Inda wrote, it is really well written and breaks everything down so that a caveman can do it :mrgreen:
If you think your bike runs great now, you will see the light when you get the RB done with the jetting spot on (even not spot on, it works better than stock) and realise it was just running ok before. :wink:
wilf
midlifemoto

Post by midlifemoto »

thanks..guess I just needed some inspiration, and I live about 1/2 hour from RB so I can pick his brain in person
I spent most of my money on women and beer, the rest I just wasted

2006 KDX 200
2007 Harley Softail Custom
2004 Harley Heritage Special (was owned by Evel Knievel)
2006 CRF100 (sons)