Bent needle

A reference for the PWK carbs...
radonc73
Gold Member
Gold Member

Bent needle

Post by radonc73 »

I have a 93 KDX 250 that the throttle sticks. I have visually inspected my carb. I didn't see anything wrong with it but is it possible to have a bent needle that wont seat right but looks straight. I am not a mechanic and want to get this straightened out before I take it into a shop and get charged $65 a shop hour for a needle. The throttle sticking has me a little afraid to ride it. I have wrestled with this for 5 years and everytime I think I have it fixed it sticks again. This is my last call for help before the shop.
Riding is living everything else, is just waiting.
Master of the casual pace
83 KDX 200
93 KDX 250
84 YTM 225 DX 3-WHEELER
m0rie
Supporting Member I
Supporting Member I

Post by m0rie »

Make sure the spring under the throttle cable cap is seated correctly.
1989 KDX 200
2007 TTR-50E
scheckaet
KDXRider.net
KDXRider.net

Post by scheckaet »

Is it lubbed good?
when you remove it from throttle and carb, does it still stick when you pull on the cable? Do you feel any resistance?
Make sure the throttle is clean and DRY (no grease)
Indawoods
Creator and Founder
Creator and Founder

Post by Indawoods »

5 YEARS???? :shock:

Man... just get a cable luber.... clean it, clean it again... and one more time for good measure. Pull your throttle tube and clean under it with some brake cleaner and clean your throttle tube with some WD and wipe it dry. If all that fails... Buy a new needle... all under $10
*** Administrator //***
****'95 KDX 200/****

"People ate cows a thousand years ago for the same reason we eat them now. Cause they are easy to catch.We're not savages,we're just lazy. A cheetah could taste like chocolate heroin. But will never know. Those bastards are fast!!! "
radonc73
Gold Member
Gold Member

Post by radonc73 »