KLX/KDX rear suspension swat

Questions and comments about converting to beefier forks..
cerrico83

KLX/KDX rear suspension swat

Post by cerrico83 »

I have an 01 KLX 300 that has a cracked case and a kdx 200 with a verry strong motor and mushy suspension. I know the fork swap is easy but what about the rear suspension. Has anyone done that yet. If so does it take any fabrication. (making it not worth it). Im new to this web site and help would be great
Indawoods
Creator and Founder
Creator and Founder

Post by Indawoods »

There is nothing lacking on the KDX shock... an occasional rebuild is in order though....
*** Administrator //***
****'95 KDX 200/****

"People ate cows a thousand years ago for the same reason we eat them now. Cause they are easy to catch.We're not savages,we're just lazy. A cheetah could taste like chocolate heroin. But will never know. Those bastards are fast!!! "
johnyblaze
Supporting Member III
Supporting Member III

Post by johnyblaze »

Is your KDX shock setup right? I'm right at 200 and my race sag is just a bit over 100mm and my static sag just under 25mm. Unless I'm wrong - that tells me 200lb is just at or maybe a little over the adjustable range for the KDX stock spring. I could use the next heavier spring... but at $109 - not sure it's worth it.

Are you over 200?
1998 KDX220 with goodies
2002 KTM LC4E
2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200S
cerrico83

Post by cerrico83 »

no im not 200 lbs but i already have a klx shock and it would be quicker and cheaper if they were cross compatable to just swap them out
cerrico83

Post by cerrico83 »

the one thats on there is really bad. Soft. I have tried adjusting it and ot doesnt ever help
KarlP
Supporting Member III
Supporting Member III

Post by KarlP »

I don't know if the shocks are the same between a KLX and a KDX. They might be. You'll need to measure.
If the KLX has a cracked case and you don't want to fool with it, I guess the thing to do would be to get the shock off it and take a look.