Need some help with my new forks

Questions and comments about converting to beefier forks..
squid

Need some help with my new forks

Post by squid »

I just completed my fork conversion. Went to 01 kx 250 forks. Love the look but holy cow are they stiff. I am planning on springs and gold valves but I am open to all suggestions. I am a complete suspension newbie pulled my first fork cap today. Anyhow on to my question is how do I determine the correct spring? Gold valves or not? Any free modifications to the existing valves and stack to make the forks smoother?

My stats
145lbs
5'11'
I don't know my class I ride in florida lots of sand and whoops I like trials type riding logs and stumps. I'm looking for a plush ride I'm not a motocross racer. I want the softest flowing suspension I can achieve if that makes any sense. Like Graham Jarvis style suspension. I'm starting to ramble now.
Thanks in advance
6 Riders
Gold Member
Gold Member

Re: Need some help with my new forks

Post by 6 Riders »

Spring it to your weight, that will make a world of difference, probably .40 or .41 springs, use 5 wt oil & replace seals and bushings. Basically, you are going to use KDX specs (not parts) on the KX forks. Myself personally would take them to a suspension shop and have them lowered, sprung and valved for your riding style.
I also recommend you tell the guru your real abilities and where you want to be in a year (as far as skill level).
newbbewb wrote:^what he said.
masterblaster wrote:Man 6 riders you rock.
*side note...I'm drunk, so try to read what I'm trying to say, instead of what I actually type
bufftester
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Post by bufftester »