which fork

Questions and comments about converting to beefier forks..
splashcroft

which fork

Post by splashcroft »

hi all,
i realise that there are about 400 posts on fork conversion but i have a few questions i cant seem to find the answers to but am sure they are around somewhere on here. i am a complete newbe to off roading. i love my kdx mainly because it seems indestructible.
basically i spend most of my time on the floor when i go off roading. i ride mainly enduro practice days at about 10-20mph with a mixture of tight tree runs and some open areas with loads of mud. my forks seem a little too soft. what is the advantages of swapping the forks out for usd kx or klr forks? would i benefit at all or not really notice the difference at my ability? im on a bit of a budget and parts seem hard to find in the uk with regards to new springs for the stock forks. would just uprating the springs in the stock forks be worth it or just a temporary thing where fitting different forks would be better?
i weight about 240 pounds with gear and am 6 foot 4 ish.
any advice would be really helpful as i want to know im falling off and washing out because of me not because the bike is not as good as it could be.

also just another side line sorry to include in the fork posts but what would you recommend for sprokets? found last time i rode 1st gear i just ended up facing the other way. so ended up just staying in second upwards.
jjavaman
Supporting Member II
Supporting Member II

Re: which fork

Post by jjavaman »